Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

The Peanut Parlor (Or, How Not to Build a Birdhouse)

A project on my mind since finding Nemo has been building a birdhouse. I wanted to give the BJ family a safe place to nest next spring.

Finally, this summer, I made one. The only thing is, although I researched how to make a birdhouse, I learned a lot more after the build. Looking back, I would do many things differently.

IMG_5391 As long as the peanuts keep coming, I'm happy.

Nonetheless, it was a good learning experience and a fun art project.

In this post, I'll show you how I built and decorated it, the mistakes I made and lessons I learned (indicated with this icon: 🚧), and why it's more like a Peanut Parlor than a birdhouse.

First, the planning. I didn't follow an exact guide. (🚧 Clearly, this is where the mistakes began). I took measurements from a video I saw, then added a couple of inches. Why? I thought BJ would enjoy a big living room.

🚧 There's a big difference between making a birdhouse to code and making a birdhouse just cute. Basic searches for "how to build a birdhouse" will, for the most part, bring up the fashion approaches, not the functional ones. Be specific with your search and build for a specific bird species in your area – especially one that could benefit from housing.

👷‍♀️ Builder's Note: As I talk about the mistakes and lessons I learned, I will reference this valuable infographic on the Features of a Good Birdhouse from NestWatch, a program part of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

IMG_5020 I measured all the pieces on a piece of plywood. 🚧 If this were nonpressure-treated CDX exterior grade plywood it would be okay to use. But I found it at my house and have no idea what it is. Untreated, unpainted cedar or pine is best.

🚧 Upon further research, I discovered, according to the Ornithology subreddit, blue jays do not even nest in boxes! Although BJ is techincally a Scrub Jay, I am making a scientific guess that this information (if true) applies to him, too. So, right off the bat, this project turned really into more of a novelty project than an effective one.

Then came the construction. I asked my brother to cut the wood and drill a hole. I watched and learned.

IMG_5099

Then I found some nails. At his insistence, my dad nailed the first couple of ones to help me get it started. I then hammered in the rest.

IMG_5101

🚧 This hole for the entrance is way too big. It's about the right size for an owl.

IMG_5102 IMG_5103

🚧 Look at the hole for the perch. Notice how one side is smooth and the other is splintering. I put the splintering side facing outwards. It's an aesthetic mistake. That also leds me to the next mistake...

🚧 Perches are not recommended for proper birdhouses. Perches help predators get in.

Build complete. BJ conducted initial inspections.

IMG_5127 This does not meet building regulations.

Next came decorating. This was the fun part.

I got some outdoor, nontoxic acrylic paint and made the birdhouse pretty.

IMG_5168

Blue for BJ.

IMG_5175

While I was painting, BJ decided it was a good time to bathe and splash all over my workspace.

IMG_5171 copy

Next came a minor construction modification. You may have noticed something "off" about the top of the roof. Originally, I had one side of the roof overlapping the other, but my brother took it apart and said to do it like this. I don't think he was right.

I had to do something to fix the gap. I found a piece of wood that fit well.

IMG_5177

🚧 A birdhouse that is built to keep birds dry is very important. Features of a sound birdhouse include a sloped roof, a recessed floor, and drainage holes. Despite my modification, I do not think the roof is sealed well enough.

I found a nice suburb of the Courtyard to set the house.

IMG_5189

To help BJ get acquainted with his new home, I gave him housewarming peanuts.

Next, it was time to install the floor. This time, I cut the wood myself.

IMG_5166

Then painted it green - like a nice garden, or, Courtyard.

IMG_5387

And nailed it on.

IMG_5422

Next, I built a fence from the vine branches that BJ likes to hide in and secured it by drilling holes the size of the fence posts and gluing them in.

IMG_5435

IMG_5436

It would not be complete without a miniature Cantina I made out of craft wire.

IMG_5426

IMG_5453 Now fill it with seed, why don't ya.

At this point, I realized many of the mistakes with this birdhouse build. Seeing it as the novelty project it turned into, I now saw it as a canvas for more pretty decorations - like painting a garden.

IMG_5920

To achieve the painted pots, I made a stencil out of tape.

IMG_5898

I "planted" a sunflower and lavender at the back.

IMG_5968

And a window with flower box on the side.

IMG_5959

IMG_5923 Not bad. Not bad.

BJ is now a regular at the Peanut Palace. He comes for fresh peanuts every morning. Lately, I've been putting a handful inside the parlor when I have breakfast and watch BJ take one or two at a time to go then stash in his hideouts.

IMG_5418 Helloooo are you open yet?

Fun fact: California Scrub Jays have "highly accurate and complex memories to recover the hidden caches, often after long periods of time."

IMG_6678 Treasure to bury.

IMG_6711 One spot BJ buries his treasure is in a bucket of dirt.

There you have it, the story of the now-popular Peanut Parlor and a guide on how not to build a birdhouse. I hope you learned valuable information about what goes into building a birdhouse to code.

I'm happy with having a cute decoration in the Courtyard and that BJ enjoys his Peanut Parlor, but I'm going to take what I learned and make another one - for Mighty Mouse. According to NestWatch, Cantina regular, Mighty Mouse (Oak Titmouse) is in decline. A way we can help as humans is to put up a birdhouse that is built to be a safe a successful home. This resource will be my guide for the next build.

IMG_6842 The problematic but pretty Peanut Parlor

And as for BJ, the Courtyard is already home.

IMG_6940

Thank you for reading and stay tuned to see Mighty Mouse's house and more stories from the Cantina & Courtyard.

🥜🏡 Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed.

#birdwatching