Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

The Curious Wanderer, and the Great Defensive That Occurred

As with many critter sightings I've seen, it started by hearing a sound.

This one was sqweep, sqweep, sqweep, sqweep. By not just one, but two birds. I recognized the voices clearly. It was BJ and BJ, our resident blue jay couple - and new parents.

But something was different about the way they sounded. It was like an unceasing conversation in which they were trying to talk at the same time.

Was it sleep-deprived parents-of-newborns arguing?

"You change the diapers." "No you, it's your turn."

"What are you doing here? Who is looking after the kids?"

I checked on the baby birds. They seemed to be okay, quietly napping. But the BJ's behavior was peculiar. They were hopping around the side of the house in areas I'd never seen them before.

About 40 minutes later I heard BJ and BJ again. The same conversation but even more frantic.

I looked out my door and saw...

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

A raccoon!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

While Mr. and Mrs. BJ were yelling at him, defending their young, he curiously came up to my door.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

I opened the door and he paused and looked at me, then scurried off under the house.

The BJ's were bold and fearless. They continued yelling at him after he left. They patrolled the side of the house like a SWAT team.

I thought about what to do to help protect the babies. I read about humane traps, motion-activated lights, and other ways to deter raccoons. I decided the best thing I could do at that moment was go outside and give the presence like that of a security guard.

Then I had the idea to cover the gap between the house and the ground. So I did that with findings from the Courtyard: a couple of pieces of wood, tile, a rock, etc.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard
Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Don't worry, he's not locked in. He will be able to get out from the other side of the house, outside the Courtyard bounds. And while he could get in via various other ways, I'm hoping by blocking this section, it will deter him from entering.

This raccoon could be a wandering vagabond. My parents said they haven't seen a raccoon in years; my dad said 25.

While he is a cute visitor, I care very much about the well-being of the baby BJ's. And so, I enlisted myself as a volunteer of the BJ army. They were so protective and courageous. It was both interesting and distressing to watch.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard BJ staying vigilant

I hope the little wandering raccoon finds a nice place to live that is not the BJ's nesting grounds.

And if I see him again, I will tell you the story.

🐦‍⬛🪴 Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed.

#birdwatching #gardening