Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Summer Gardening Update Part I: Pumpkins, Plumeria, Propagations & More

In addition to the citrus recovery and apartment remodel, here's an update on what's been happening in the Courtyard this summer – so far!

Propagating Plumeria

This project technically started in spring when my mom cut branches of our plumeria tree. My research said to let the cuttings dry out for a week. I left them for much longer than that. I think it was at least two months.

Finally, I planted a few in the leftover citrus potting mix I had.

IMG_4415 Date planted: June 26

Which brings us to...

a new visitor to the Courtyard!

IMG_4417

Perhaps drawn by the perch-like branches, I spotted the new visitor on the newly planted plumeria. We will call her Lia.

Hi Lia!

IMG_4419 No photos, please.

Lia is a California Towhee. She likes perching on plumerias and scratching in the dirt for seed, which I spotted her doing!

I saw her a few times more exploring in the Courtyard, but haven't seen any recent sightings.

IMG_6579

Going back to the plumeria, I planted another in the ground and a few more in pots. They already started growing leaves before I had planted them!

IMG_4414

In the summer, the plumeria produces beautiful flowers. These are the type of flowers used for making Hawaiian leis. They smell very nice as well.

IMG_6660

Just in the past few days, the tree has been blossoming.

IMG_6662

IMG_6665 View through the Butterfly Cantina

Angelonia

I got an Angelonia for my grandma last month because of the name. And because it is pretty. I thought I'd like to grow one as well.

IMG_4473 Date planted: June 29

This is the Archangel variety. It is a perennial that blooms through fall and attracts hummingbirds and butterflies.

Jalapeño Pepper

My local nursery had a bunch of peppers in stock, so I picked up this jalapeño. I like jalapeño peppers in dishes, so I'm excited to make something with it once it grows. Maybe a salsa or chili.

IMG_4476 Date planted: June 29

It has already grown a lot – and also a pepper!

IMG_5384 IMG_5383

Lavender Haircut

The lavender needed a haircut. Because the flowers had faded, it was time for deadheading. Doing this makes the plant focus on growing more.

The Makeovers

IMG_4509 IMG_4511
IMG_4512 IMG_4514

Date pruned: June 30

I left a few flowers, but in hindsight, I would have trimmed them too because the plant is already growing new ones.

The best part is having a lavender bouquet as decor.

IMG_4516 IMG_4576

Propagating Green Onions

Fun fact: You can grow green onions from your kitchen scraps!

Simply place the ends with roots in water, and like magic they will start growing.

IMG_4536 Date put in water: July 1

Here they are just three days later:

IMG_4664

A day after that, I planted them in soil.

IMG_4668

When I saw the roots reaching the bottom of the cups, I moved some into The Botanic Apartments and the others into a pot.

IMG_5402 IMG_5235

Date transplanted: July 27

Notice how they have grown multiple "branches."

An observation: When I planted them in soil, I added fertilizer to one cup as an experiment. When I took it out to transplant it, I noticed the roots were much longer than the others.

IMG_5234

Pumpkins

A big aspect of gardening is thinking ahead. For instance, if you want pumpkins by Halloween, you need to sow them in early July!

And that is what I did, because how fun would it be to carve jack-o-lanterns from homegrown pumpkins! 🎃 And to have a mini pumpkin patch.

The variety I got is called Jack O'Lantern.

IMG_5403 Can you tell that this packet has spent some time in my pocket?

To have the best chances of having a pumpkin to carve, I sowed the seeds in a couple of different places: the Stairway Slope and a pot in the Downstairs Patio.

Let's have a quick "how it started and how it's going" look!

On the Stairway Slope

IMG_4729 Date sowed: July 3

IMG_5370 July 30

In a pot in the Downstairs Patio

IMG_4717 Date sowed: July 6

IMG_5309 July 29

There was already soil in this pot that had been there for probably a long time. It was about as hard as a rock when I tried to till it. I'm happy the pumpkin plant doesn't seem to mind! Where the pumpkins will grow in (or outside of) this pot, I don't know, but I'm curious to see what happens and what I might need to do to support it.

I am most excited to grow pumpkins, and hopeful that they will indeed grow!

Sunflowers (and more Pumpkins)

I saw a packet of Evening Sun sunflower seeds at the market and thought they would look pretty going into fall. (Thinking ahead, see? 😉)

IMG_4605

I sowed them on – let's call it for now, Yet Another Slope. This slope goes up to the Deck. It's also where I planted the plumeria.

Along with the new Evening Sun seeds, I also sowed more Lemon Queens and more Jack O'Lanterns. Fun fact: sunflowers and pumpkins are companions.

IMG_4735_edit Date planted: July 7

(orange = pumpkin; red = Evening Sun; yellow = Lemon Queen)

So far, two sunflowers are doing okay, and one of the pumpkins.

IMG_5404

Transplanting Deep Rose Lavender

The deep rose lavender I planted in a shallow pot was looking like it needed a new living arrangement. So I upgraded its room to a suite.

IMG_5037 Date transplanted: July 21

IMG_5041 Nice. Room.

In Other News

Big Boy Tomato Was Delicious!

It was so full of flavor! I'm glad to enjoy the fruits of my labor.

IMG_5022

IMG_5025 With some fresh Courtyard basil, too!

Hummingbird Sage Looks Beautiful

For a while after I transplanted the hummingbird sage, it seemed like it wasn't growing at all. Then it took off and grew a lot in a short time, creating these beautiful flowers.

IMG_4961 Hummingbirds, I know you want some of this.

Cherry Tomato Refuses to Climb Tower Trellis

IMG_4817 You can't make me!

I've picked many delicious tomatoes from it though, so it's okay.

Taylor Sparrow Becomes a Regular

I see Taylor Sparrow at the Cantinas often now. It's nice to see that her first time here wasn't just a weekend stop!

IMG_6550 Is that fresh seed I see?

IMG_6533 Yum, yum, yum.

IMG_6541 Such a nice cantina.

IMG_6558 Thanks for the seed and top-notch service! I'll see you soon!

Thanks for reading! I'll be back with Part II to my summer gardening, so stay tuned! 🐦‍⬛🪴 Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed.

#birdwatching #gardening