Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Pretty orange flowers, evictions, and new residents

The plants of the Courtyard got a few new neighbors!

This past week I went to the nursery twice (I'm starting to become a regular like BJ is at the Cantina), and got more plants to plant.

On Saturday, I went with a plan: get a bird of paradise for my dad. He loves the bird-looking flower and we've been talking about putting a couple at the front of the house.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Back from the nursery

When my dad saw it didn't have a "pretty orange flower" he acted mopey. I laughed and sighed at the same time.

Patience, old grasshopper.

I read that bird of paradise likes to be pot-bound, so I'm thinking that this abandoned treasure will be perfect. It was behind the BBQ for years apparently, with some soil still in it.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

The bird of paradise really liked its short-term rental, so getting it out was somewhat tricky.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

I mixed in new potting soil and plant food and planted it on the Deck where it will get plenty of sun and my dad can enjoy looking at the pretty orange flowers green palms. That is, until it blooms.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard In its happy new home. Date planted: February 23

Also that same day at the nursery, I got chives to add to my herb collection.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Chives moved in a day later.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Date planted: February 24

While I planted the chives, BJ came for brunch - and a drink! It was the first time I saw him use the Cantina cups! It was very exciting.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Later in the week, I went back to the nursery to look around and saw a hibiscus with pretty orange flowers. I thought, to make my dad happy, I will get it.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard So I got it

A messy tenant was evicted. And hibiscus moved in.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Now my dad has two pretty orange flowers. They're not bird of paradise, but he liked them anyway. Date planted: February 28

After I planted the hibiscus, I walked around the corner in the Courtyard and saw BJ was having a bath!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Getting ready for dinner at the Cantina

While at my second visit of the week to the nursery, I also got a strawberry plant, which I'm very excited about.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

The owner of this lovely blue home moved out and Strawberry had its eye on the listing. As soon as it was available, Strawberry moved in. I think it's the perfect house for it because strawberries have shallow roots.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Enjoying the Deck in lots of sun. Date planted: February 28

Also this week, my mom got from the market a basil plant looking for a new apartment. Again, another renter, this one nonpaying, was evicted. The available apartment was cleaned, and the basil moved in.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Up next, I have two California native plants to find homes for. I haven't decided yet if I'll plant them straight into the ground or in pots.

Stay tuned!

Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed.

#birdwatching #gardening