Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Planting California Natives

After two days of rain it was nice to get outside and do some gardening.

Yesterday

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Today

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Clearing sky and sunbathing BJ.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Ahh, sublime sun

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Grabbing a quick bite at the Cantina

Today's planting project

The other day, I got two California native plants from my local nursery. I've become interested in California natives since going to this nursery and seeing a prominent display for them. These plants are drought-tolerant and good for local wildlife. I chose De Le Mina Verbena and Seaside Daisy because they are pretty, have long flowering seasons, and attract butterflies. I love butterflies.

The De La Mina Verbena

As I later learned, De Le Mina Verbena is a nursery-cultivated plant, "introduced by the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden," according to Calscape, a nifty site I've been exploring lately.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Back from the nursery

The lady at the nursery suggested I use native soil but they didn't have any in stock. Instead - in a very unscientific way - I used the soil I had leftover from preparing a pot for the lemon tree, because it looks similar to the soil of the natural surroundings here. It's lighter in color, drier, and has a lot of rocks, compared to potting soil.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

I saw little green signs of life in the soil, so I thought it should be good.

I planted the De Le Mina Verbena in a big terracotta pot and in a spot that gets full sun.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Date planted: March 3

Notice the number of flowers in the planted picture compared to the "back from the nursery" picture. It bloomed fast!

The Seaside Daisy

When I saw this little Seaside Daisy at the nursery, I thought it looked like it needed a good home and a chance to thrive.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

I used the same soil I used for the De La Mina Verbena. The only difference was that one of the buckets was filled with rainwater, so it was muddy. I mixed that with the remainder of dry soil and new potting mix to fill the pot.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard
Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Date planted: March 3

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard So pretty and cute

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Theses two Cali locals are now next-door neighbors, soaking up the Courtyard sun.

Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed to see what gardening and birdwatching adventures await.

#birdwatching #gardening