Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Paving A Brick Section

Once upon a time there was a vacant space,

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

a BBQ and compost taking up space,

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

and a pile of bricks.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

One day they came together to create...

A nice little functional extension of the Courtyard. ✨

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Now the vacant space has a function, the BBQ and compost have a place, and the Courtyard has opened up.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

And where there was a pile of bricks is now a nicer, tidier section.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

How It All Came Together

I had never laid brick before, so I didn't know what to expect. I didn't do any kind of gravel base or concrete or anything like that. It is just brick laid out on dirt ground that I tried to get as level as possible.

It is far from professional, but it is functional and that is what matters for my purpose. I am proud of how it came out and enjoyed learning something new!

The Steps

In case you are curious about paving a simple brick section, or would like to see how I did it, here are the steps I took:

Step 1: Choose pattern

There are many brick patterns one can do. I went with one of the simplest ones, in which the bricks are in horizontal rows. No brick cutting involved.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Figuring out a pattern before starting the work

Step 2: Clear area

Free the section of leaves and debris. I had to dig out some roots before moving on to step 3.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Step 3: Level ground

This is the most important step. The more level you can get the ground, the easier it will be to lay the brick and create a flat surface. I used a straight piece of wood the same width as the section to scrape the dirt. I scraped in both directions (horizontal and vertical to the section) until it was even and level.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Step 4: Lay brick

Place the brick in the pattern you chose in step 1. Although I tried to get a level surface in step 3, sometimes I would lay a brick and it wouldn't be level with the one next to it. When that happened, I either dug some dirt away or filled in the space with dirt. It was all about trying to get them level with each other and minimize the gap between them.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

And ta-da!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

I hope you enjoyed my brick paving adventure! Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed to follow along with my next projects. 🐦‍⬛🪴