Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

If you asked all the plants of the Courtyard, "How are you?" here's what they'd say

An update of how all the plants are doing, if plants could talk.

Lettuce

You would have bolted too if you spent all day everyday in the sun. Just look at Spike - he's going for the moon!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Lemon Tree

I'm thinking I should start taking a multi-vitamin.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Lavender

I'm changing up my aesthetic; from preppy to bohemian.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Bird of Paradise

I've been opening up more.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Hibiscus

It's taking me some time to get used to this joint. Life here started okay, then it got bad (I lost the flowers I came with). It was hot, then it was cold - I can't take this inconsistency! But things are looking up now. Check out my new flower! Update: I lost that flower, too. Sigh.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Strawberry

I'm... not... giving... up....

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

De La Mina Verbena

I'm just gonna humbly move into the Stairway Slope.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Date transplanted: May 9

Seaside Daisy

Look at me now! It just took a new environment for me to realize my potential - closer to the seaside.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

The Botanic Apartment Residents

Most of us are filing complaints. The water company is subpar.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Let's hear from a few apartment residents:

Cherry Tomatoes

We're all mothers! Between us we have over 40 baby tomatoes. All their names are Tommy.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Cilantro (from seed)

What the heck is this place? Sil over here is getting choked by a cucumber!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Lettuce (from seed)

We're living in medieval conditions. Too many of us in a small space. Chloe, there's a little thing called "thinning" you're supposed to do to us sprouting seeds. Hmmmm?

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Strawberries

We like, did our job already, right?

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Cucumber

I should have gotten a teepee, not an apartment.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Moving on from the Botanic Apartments...

Cherry Tomato

I've been working out a lot. Kids? Only one.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Bee's Bliss Sage

Finally! I'm in a place that understands me! The sunlight! The breeze through my leaves! Look at me grow now! I still have some of that powdery mildew problem but nothing that can stop me now.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Spearmint

Grow up, you say? I'll grow out.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Bush Bean

My beans are nearly the size of me!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Little Lavender

This is easy.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Hummingbird Sage

I kept hearing about the Stairway Slope from my Cali friends. "The soil is excellent; the sun shines; we're growing better than ever," they'd say. Since I wasn't where I wanted to be at this point, I decided to move there and give the new place a try.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Date transplanted: May 19

Big Boy Tomato

I'm a big boy now.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Propagated Rosemary

If we were strokes of calligraphy, we'd now be letters written with heavy pressure. Thick.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

The Star Jasmine Twins

We're showing star potential.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard
Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Propagated Fuchsia

I'm gonna need a bigger pot.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Marigolds

We gotta say, we didn't think it'd be tough around here. For a while we were living the good life. Then the bunnies, oh, the bunnies - evil creatures. Some of us packed our roots and moved in with Lemon. Others went to the Stairway Slope. One of us recovered fast and is living the comfortable life on the Deck - getting compliments on the pretty flowers we all once had. But the rest of us, well, we're hopeful.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

In recovery

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Thriving

California Poppy

Still poppin'.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Sunflowers (from seed)

In pots

Damn it, Chloe! Who keeps bringing in these Hare's foot ink caps?!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

In the ground

Sun, here we come!

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard
Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

And that is how the plants of the Courtyard are doing today.

#gardening