Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Back Door Gets a Star Jasmine Makeover

The back door to the Courtyard needed a makeover.

I'd been thinking about it since taking up Project Gardening, but didn't know what to plant there.

Here's how it looked:

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Left and right sides of the door. (I wish I had taken a proper "before" wide shot.)

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Slowly but surely, I chipped away at cleaning up this section. If you look closely at the picture above, you can see two metal tables. One has a broken pot under it and the other has a plant growing through it.

I got them out.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

A week later, I happened to be searching for pot trays when I found two pieces of round glass in the dirt near the garage. To my amazement, they fit the tables.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Perfect for tea and coffee time in the Courtyard while watching the Cantina Customers.

I also had to do something with this messy shelf.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Things started to look better.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

After much research, I decided to plant star jasmine for the lattice.

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Left - Date planted: April 2 | Right - Date planted: April 5 - notice also it's not a messy shelf anymore!

I decided on star jasmine for a couple of reasons. One, my local nursery has it, which means it will grow in my climate. Two, I read it can grow in partial shade. This area gets about 4 hours of afternoon sun in the spring, which will become a little more as the days get longer.

And here's how it looks all together after planting:

Chloe's Cantina & Courtyard

Lookin' good, back door!

There's more back door makeover to come, so follow along! 🐦‍⬛🪴 Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS feed to stay tuned with my gardening adventures.

#gardening